1 IN 2

1 in 2 of us will be diagnosed with cancer by age 85.
Donate now

Human Research Ethics

Our research ethics committees review cancer research projects to ensure ethical standards are met and that the confidentiality of participants' information is protected.

(See our glossary of medical and professional acronyms for details of qualifications).

Membership of the Human Research and Ethics Committee

Professor Jeffrey Szer : BMedSc MB BS FRACP

Prof Marilyn Pittard: LLB (Hons), BEc (Hons), Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Victoria 
Lawyer, Deputy Chair

Ms Tarishi Desai: BComm, BA(Hons), JD 

Mr Dominik Kucera: B.Bus (Acc), CPA
Communtiy member

Dr Maia Sauren: BE, Electrical and Computing (biomedical major) PhD (Electrical and Computer Engineering)  
Community member

Dr John Hannon: BSc(Hons), BTh, PhD, DipEd

Pastoral Care

Ms Grace Butson: BPhty, MCncrSc

Professional Care

Ms Rishni Perera: BBiomed, MSpeechPath

Professional Care

Dr Rebecca Bergin: BA&Sc, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (Hons), PhD (Department of General Practice)  


Dr Fiona Bruinsma: BSc, Grad Dip App Psych, MA App Sc (Epidemiology), DPH


A/Prof Allison Hodge: BAgSc (Hons), BSc, Grad Dip Diet, MEnvSc, Grad Dip Epi Biostats, PhD


Dr Sibel Saya: BS, MC-GENCOUN, PhD (Centre for Cancer Research & Department of General Practice)