Nigel Gray Award

Not everyone's achievements in tobacco control are publicly acknowledged. This biennial Award has been established by Cancer Council Victoria in recognition of our unsung heroes. It's peer-nominated, with applications judged by a committee of experts. The recipient will be announced at the Oceania Tobacco Control Conference.

To submit a nomination please email

The closing date for applications is close of business 09 August 2019.

Selection criteria

The Nigel Gray award recognises an individual's contribution in tobacco control, with a bias towards recognition of relatively ‘unsung heroes'. The award is open to anyone working in tobacco control in Australia, New Zealand and Pacific Island nations who has demonstrated:

  • significant contribution to achievement in tobacco control at a local, regional or international level
  • skill in application or generation of evidence and argument for tobacco control
  • an understanding of advocacy, and political nous
  • creativity, and
  • persistence.

Selection committee

  • Professor Robert Beaglehole
    School of Critical Studies in Education
    University of Auckland

  • Professor Simon Chapman AO
    Department of Public Health and Community Medicine
    University of Sydney  

  • Professor Mike Daube AO
    Faculty of Health Sciences
    Curtin University

  • Todd Harper
    Chief Executive Officer
    Cancer Council Victoria  

  • Dr Lyn Roberts AO
    Acting CEO
    Victorian Health Promotion Foundation (VicHealth)

  • Dr Michelle Scollo
    Senior Policy Adviser, Tobacco
    Cancer Council Victoria

  • Denise Sullivan
    Director Chronic Disease Prevention
    Department of Health
    Western Australia

Previous winners

2005: Ms Michelle Scollo

2007: Professor Melanie Wakefield and Dr Caleb Otto

2009: Professor Konrad Jamrozik and Mr Shane Bradbrook

2011: the Hon. Nicola Roxon

2013: Associate Professor Vicki White and Professor Robert Beaglehole

2015: Ms Denise Sullivan and Mr Maurice Swanson

2017: Ms Kylie Lindorff

2019: Mr Paul Grogan