Help fund vital cancer research

Make a tax-deductible donation before 30 June

Medical & Scientific Committee

This group provides advice to the Executive Committee (Board) on the promotion and funding of cancer research, including recommendations on the allocation of research funds.

Members are appointed by Victorian Universities, hospitals, medical research institutes and medical specialist colleges.

(See our glossary of medical and professional acronyms for details of qualifications). 

Professor Gail Risbridger: PhD
Medical and Scientific Committee appointee to the Board

Professor Leigh Ackland: BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD
Deakin University, Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment

Professor Sureshkumar Balasubramanian: PhD  
Monash University, Faculty of Science

Dr Robert Blum: MBBS, FRACP, GradCertHlthProfEd
Bendigo Health

Dr Stephen Brown: MBBS, FRACP
Ballarat Health Services

Associate Professor Philip Campbell: MB ChB, FRCP, FRCPath, FRCPA, FRACP
Barwon Health 

Associate Professor Arun Chandu: BDSc, MBBS(Hons), MDSc, PhD(Melb), MPHA, FICD, FDSRCS(Eng), FDSRCS(Ed), FRACDS(OMS), FRCS(Eng)
Dental Health Services Victoria

Professor Roger Daly: BSc (Hons), PhD
Monash University, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

Professor Ian D Davis: MBBS (Hons), PhD, FRACP, FAChPM
Eastern Health

Dr Peter Downie: MBBS, FRACP 
Royal Australasian College of Physicians (Paediatric Division)

Professor Peter R Ebeling AO: MBBS, MD, FRACP
The Royal Australasian College of Physicians (Victorian Faculty) 

Associate Professor Ron Firestein: BA, MD, PhD
Hudson Institute of Medical Research  

Associate Professor Farshad Foroudi: MBBS, MPA, DMedSc, FRANZCR
Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

Professor Stephen B Fox: BSc (Hons), FRCPA, MBChB, DPhil, FRCPath, FFSc, FAHMS
The Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia

Associate Professor Hui Gan: MBBS, FRACP, PhD
Austin Health - Austin & Repatriation Hospitals

Professor Paul Gorry: PhD
RMIT University 

Associate Professor Simon Harrison: MBBS, MRCP(UK), FRCPath(UK), FRACP, PhD 
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Associate Professor Jorg Heierhorst: MD
St Vincent's Institute of Medical Research

Professor John Hopper AM: BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD, BA
University of Melbourne, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

Professor Tom Jobling OAM: MBBS, FRCOG, FRANZCOG, CGO, MD
The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists 

Dr Pearly Khaw: BAppSci (Medical Radiations), MBBS, FRANZCR
Australian Medical Association (Vic Branch)

Dr Nadia Lusis: MPH, BMed
Victorian Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (VACCHO) 

Professor Lisa Martin: BSc (Hons), PhD
Monash University, Faculty of Science

Professor Michael McCullough 
Australian Dental Association (Vic Branch)

Associate Professor Julie McMullen: BSc (Hons), PhD, FCSANZ, FAHA
Baker Heart and Diabetes Institute 

Associate Professor Paul McMurrick: MBBS (Hons), FRACS
Cabrini Health 

Professor Jeremy Millar: BMedSc, MB ChB, FRANZCR, FAChPM, Grad Cert (Biostat), Grad Cert (Health Econ)
The Alfred, Alfred Health 

Professor Geoffrey Pietersz: BSc (Hons), PhD
Burnet Institute

Associate Professor John T. Price: BSc (Hons), PhD
Victoria University 

Professor Andrew Roberts: MBBS, FRACP, FRCPA, PhD
Melbourne Health - Royal Melbourne Hospital
Medical and Scientific Committee Appointee to the Board

Professor Penelope Schofield: BSc (Hons), PhD, MAPS
Swinburne University of Technology

Professor Eva Segelov: MBBS, PhD, FRACP
Monash Health 

Professor Melissa Southey: BSc (Hons), PhD, Grad Dip Law, FHGSA, FFSc (RCPA)
University of Melbourne - Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences 

Associate Professor Constantine Tam: MBBS, MD, FRACP, FRCPA
St Vincent's Hospital

Professor Robert Thomas OAM: MBBS, MS, FRACS, FRCS (UK)
Appointed by Minister for Health

Associate Professor Justin Tse: MBBS, MMed, FRACGP, FACHI
Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (Victoria)

Dr Stephen Vaughan: MBBS, FRACP, FRCPA, FAICD
Epworth HealthCare 

Professor Jane Visvader: BSc (Hons), PhD
Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Associate Professor Zee Wan Wong:  MBBS, MRCP (UK), FRCP (Edin), FAMS (Med Onc), GDA, FRACP (Med Onc), MAICD
Peninsula Health

Mr David Wrede: MA, MB BChir (Cantab), FRCS (Eng), MRCOG, FRANZCOG
Royal Women's Hospital

Dr Nicole Yap: MBBS (Melb), FRACS
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons

Standing Research Subcommittee

Professor Gail Risbridger: PhD 

Professor Weisan Chen: PhD

Dr Rachel Conyers: MBBS, FRACP, PhD  

Professor Ian D Davis: MBBS (Hons), PhD, FRACP, FAChPM

Associate Professor Marco Herold: Dip Biol, PhD

Professor Brendan Jenkins: PhD 

Professor Mark Jenkins: BSc, PhD

Professor Ricky Johnstone: BSc, PhD

Professor John Mariadason: BSc (Hons), DEd, PhD 

Dr Kylie Mason: MBBS, PhD, FRACP, FRCPA 

Dr Jennifer McIntosh: BAppSci (AppBiol/Biotech), MPH, PhD

Professor Louise Purton: BSc (Hons), PhD 

Associate Professor Jake Shortt: BMedSc (Dist), MBChB (Dist), FRACP, FRCPA, PhD

Associate Professor Raymond Snyder: MBBS, MMed, FRACP

Professor Melissa Southey: BSc (Hons), PhD, Grad Dip Law, FHGSA, FFSc (RCPA)

Dr Kate Sutherland: BSc (Hons), PhD

Associate Professor Renea A. Taylor: BSc (Hons), PhD 

Professor Tony Tiganis: BSc (Hons), PhD

Professor Victoria White: BA (Hons), MA, PhD

Professor Scott Williams: MBBS, BScMed, FRANZCR, MD