Board of Directors

The Executive Committee (Board) approves strategic directions, organisation structure, policies and implementation processes. Board members observe corporate governance principles and a code of conduct in keeping with those of the Australian Securities Exchange.

All other committees support and report to the Board. It meets regularly and reports to Council, on whose behalf it makes decisions. The CEO is appointed by and reports to the Board.

(See our glossary of medical and professional acronyms for details of qualifications).

 Board Members

Professor Andrew RobertsProfessor Andrew Roberts, Chair

Andrew Roberts is a Clinical Haematologist at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, National Health and Medical Research Council Practitioner Fellow at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, and Principal Fellow, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at The University of Melbourne. He's been an Executive Committee Member since 2004 and is appointed by the Medical and Scientific Committee.

Maria TrinciMs Maria Trinci
Chair of Finance, Risk, Audit & Compliance Committee
BComm, BA, CA

Maria Trinci is a senior manager at KPMG specialising in providing audit and advisory services to the financial services sector. She has over 10 years experience in auditing, focusing particularly in the banking sector. She has extensive project management experience and has worked internationally on banking clients with a focus on investment banking. Maria provides accounting advice in the area of deal structuring, funding and hedging to a number of industries. She's been an Executive Committee member since 2010, and is a member of the Finance Committee.

Professor Joe TrapaniProfessor Joe Trapani
Chair Medical & Scientific Committee

Joe Trapani is Head of the Cancer Immunology Program at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre in Melbourne. He's a Professorial Fellow in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at The University of Melbourne and in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Monash University. He's also a Senior Principal Research Fellow of the National Health and Medical Research Council. Has been an Executive Committee Member since 2007 and is appointed by the Medical and Scientific Committee.

Mr David GibbsMr David Gibbs
BCom (Melb), FCA, FAICD

David Gibbs is a business strategist and adviser with a reputation for developing wise and practical solutions to business problems. His career to date spans some 35 years. During this time, David has seen the effects of many business cycles and the succession of management within a wide range of business operations. This experience has sharpened his passion for excellent Corporate Governance and the identification and management of risk.
He's a committed supporter and office bearer for numerous community-based and youth organisations, including a foundation director of the Melbourne Community Foundation. David also served as the Chairman of the Victorian State Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia.

Associate Professor Jeremy MillarAssociate Professor Jeremy Millar
BmedSci, Biochemistry, MB, ChB, Medicine

A/Prof Jeremy Millar was the immediate past Director of the Southern Melbourne Integrated Cancer Service (SMICS) and is currently Director of Radiation Oncology at Alfred Health in Melbourne. In addition to a busy clinical practice looking after patients there, he oversees both an academic radiation centre in metropolitan Melbourne, as well as Alfred Health's satellite regional centre in Gippsland. He leads the Radiation Oncology Genito-Urinary cancer group at Alfred Health and, as part of this, developed and leads a large prostate brachytherapy program, as well as an External Beam Radiotherapy Service. He is an adjunct Associate Professor at Monash University and his research and academic interests are mainly in prostate cancer. A/Prof Millar is the current Chair of Cancer Council Victoria's Clinical Network and a past Chair of the VCOG Urological Cancer Committee.

Dr Mukesh Haikerwal AODr Mukesh Haikerwal AO

Dr Mukesh Haikerwal is a General Medical Practitioner in Melbourne's Western Suburbs where he has practised since 1991. He is the Chair of Council of the World Medical Association and was elected unopposed in May 2011 following 3 years as the Chair of the Finance and planning committee. He was the 19th Federal President of the Australian Medical Association, its Federal Vice President and, prior to that AMA Victorian State President. This saw him responsible for national policy development, lobbying with federal parliamentarians, co‚Äźordinating activity across the AMA State entities and representing the AMA and its members nationally and internationally.

Mr Andrew Dyer

Andrew is a company director and joined the Board in 2015.  He serves on a number of boards and advisory boards in the commercial and not-for-profit sectors.  Andrew is also a Vice Chancellor's Professorial Fellow at Monash University and has worked in a variety of industries in Australia, Asia and the Americas. He holds a Bachelor of Engineering with first class honors from Monash University and an MBA from Georgetown University.  

Ms Jacinda de Witts
BEc, LLB(Hons I), Grad Dip Corp & Sec Law 

Jacinda de Witts is a Principal at Hive Legal with over 20 years' experience advising government and corporate clients on a broad range of corporate, commercial and regulatory matters.  Jacinda joined the Board in June 2015.  Jacinda is also a director of the Royal Children’s Hospital.  Jacinda has a Bachelor of Economics and a Bachelor of Laws (with first class honours) from the University of Sydney, and a Graduate Diploma in Corporations and Securities Law from the University of Melbourne

Stephanie Bansemer-Brown
Stephanie has over 20 years’ experience in the media industry.  She was Head of Marketing and Publicity for Network Ten in Melbourne for 13 years and currently is the Marketing and Communications consultant to the Australian Radio Network and Bowel Cancer Australia. Stephanie joined the Board in 2015.   Stephanie survived stage 3 bowel cancer in 2012.

Professor Jane Visvader
BSc (Hons) PhD Adelaide

Professor Jane Visvader is a scientist specialising in breast cancer research who works for the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute in Melbourne, Australia. She is the joint head of the Breast Cancer Laboratory with Professor Geoff Lindeman.  In 2008, Jane Visvader was a joint recipient of the GlaxoSmithKline Award for Research Excellence for outstanding contribution to Breast Cancer research. Professor Visvader was made a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 2012Professor Visvader's most recent award is the 2014 Royal Society of Victoria Research Medal for Scientific Excellence in Biomedical & Health Sciences

Updated: 05 Jan, 2016